Addicted to Storms

July 24, 2010

My first summer in Madison is proving to be quite satisfactory in many areas, particularly the area of storms.  I love thunder.  I love lightning.  I love rain, puddles, and Gene Kelly–you know, the works.

You see, I’m the silly child who ran outside (to screams from my younger siblings, “No Elizabeth!  Don’t!  You’ll die!”) during tornado watches and thunderstorms to play in the rain or lie down in the lawn and stare at the lightning. Thankfully, no random lightning bolt or wind-blown tree took me out, as promised by my younger sister, Andrea.

Strangely enough, this recent plethora of late night storms has become problematic for me.  It seems that I cannot sleep.  It’s not the noise or even the beauty of listening to it (though it is beautiful), but moreso the excitement that is generated in me.  It’s like the electrical charges in the air impact the electrical firings in my brain.  Not in any logical sort of way, as the thoughts that are generated can’t even be put into words.  Suffice it to say, with this “revved up” state of being, it is quite difficult to sleep.

So, I read some David Sedaris–also not conducive to sleep, as I’ve found out.  His books are quite interesting and amusing.  I think the next book I’ll try will be either boring or utterly confusing…maybe even in French.  If I can’t bore my brain to sleep, I’ll just have to overwhelm it, leave it with a self-complex of inadequacy, and hope that it eventually gives up.  Depression of the brain.  Do they make a drug for this?

Ooooo… a yawn.  Yes!  Let me try this sleep thing again.

Goodnight.  I hope.

One Response to “Addicted to Storms”

  1. Rejoy Photography said

    Love this Elizabeth? Did you get any sleep last night?

Leave a Reply

