I Amaze Myself

July 27, 2010

Sometimes, I wish I didn’t.  Let me explain.

So, I was driving to visit my grampa today for the first time in maybe a month.  Over the last year or so, I have driven to his house possibly 8-10 times, each time, needing to ask for directions.  So, I thought yesterday, “I know where I’m going.  Something’s bound to at least look familiar.”  Those thoughts should have been warning enough.

So, I’m driving in on 494 (Let me quick explain something.  Every time I get directions, I ask a different person.  My aunt swears by the 494 route, my mom and uncle recommend 394, I barely know the difference.)  and I start looking for a familiar sign.  My aunt said something about highway 6, or was it 7… wait, that sign says 5.  Well, I’ll hold out for a 6, but if I don’t see one in a few minutes, I’ll settle for whichever odd number is closer.

Aha!  6!  Now, hmmm… left feels right.  Ooooohh.  I recognize that road name.  Oh no, I recognize that one too.  In fact, I recognize almost all the road names.  Which road do I take?  Which way do I take it?  Let’s put it this way, I prefer to explore all of my possible options before going the “correct way.”  So, a half hour later, I arrived at my grampa’s house, about 2 miles from the exit.

The best part is, every time, my grampa reminds me of “Paul Windmuller’s Rules for Life #2: If you want to get where you’re going, never ask a woman for directions.”

I apologize to females everywhere, I definitely give us a bad name.

One Response to “I Amaze Myself”

Leave a Reply

